Whenever I hear about another horrible shooting, after absorbing the awfulness (to the extent that’s possible at such a distance) I hope, will there finally be enough momentum to get more gun control?

Despite the fact that this is the small sliver of optimism I can conjure when hearing of these tragic events, I was nonetheless appalled when I heard a snippet of Pres. Bush’s response to the shooting, paraphrased from what I heard on NPR yesterday afternoon, “It’s tragic . . . I believe in the right to bear arms, but not the illegal use of guns . . .”

Now, I don’t know if those statements were in response to to specific questions about how the events impacted his stance on gun control, but it did strike me as in completely poor taste the way I heard it.  More than 30 people have died and all he can think to do is reassure his base that he’s still supporting a cock-eyed view of the 2d amendment? Talk about no sense of compassion.  But then, given all the other crap that has gone on, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

But I will still hope for a silver lining to emerge.

