Make it stop.  I have that stupid song by Avril Lavigne – “Girlfriend” stuck in my head.  It’s catchy, but really irritating if you listen to the words.  The video isn’t much better.  It’s very irritating, and frankly, mean, for no apparent purpose other than to show that the cool semi-goth chick is hotter than the geeky red-head  and that the cool chick is a bit of bully and the boyfriend is an asshat stringing two girls along- or maybe it’s a joke?  Except not funny?   I know I’m not in the target demographic, but either I’m missing something or it’s just lame.

Update: Jill at feministe says it better

If you want to know why I’ve seen the video, as an occasional treat we let the boys watch a music video or two between bath & bedtime (make them dance out any last remnants of energy before crashing).  Obviously, the videos have to be those we judge unlikely to have anything too inappropriate (loosely defined) or unexplainable.  Combined, these ‘standards’ eliminate about 4/5 of those in the VH1 weekly countdown — bring back Regina Spector!  It also means that I don’t think they have seen any hiphop/rap (or whatever mainstream version of it that ends up on VH1 – do all those songs have to show someone dry-humping a person and/or the camera? I don’t mind some serious shaking, but really)  so they’re getting a pretty whitebread video exposure.  Anyway, the boys saw this video a few nights ago & insisted on it again last night, with helpful commentary from me, “Don’t you think they’re being really mean?  Why do you think they are so mean?” Etc., etc.

And before you criticize me for being bad mama in exposing my children to the worst of pop culture, having them watch that The Saints are Coming video by Green Day/U2 actually gave me a unique opportunity to talk about the failings of our government and what happened after Katrina (which aside from a jump-a-thon in school to raise funds, I don’t think they’d had much exposure to). BB’s response: “Next time, me and my superhero team will fly in and rescue everybody.” Oh kiddo, I wish it were that easy.  But still, a far more immediate and appropriate plan that what the gubmint did.

note: updated to correct typos & add link

