I hated summer squash and zucchini as a child.  When I was ten, my mom & stepdad, newly moved to the west coast, created a vast vegetable garden.  They made the first timers’ mistake of planting more than one zucchini plant.  In fact, they planted three (or was it four, the horror has made the memory vague).  After that year, so scarred was I by the experience, I was probably twenty-five before I voluntarily ate zucchini or summer squash again.  That summer we had raw zucchini, sauteed zucchini, baked zucchini with cheese on top, zucchini bread, zucchini pickles, and, in desperation, chocolate zucchini cake (why, why, why would anyone waste good chocolate on zucchini?).

Anyway, now that zucchini and summer squash no longer make me run at the sight of them, I find that I actually enjoy them, but cooked in a way my parents never experimented with: grilled.

The way the jolt family likes them (ok, just me and mr. jolt, the kids aren’t touching it, but your less persnickety ones might) is very simple:

>Clean and slice as many zucchini or summer squash as you want to eat lengthwise into 1/3 or 1/2 inch
>Dredge strips in olive oil (for a lighter meal you could probably just spray with an olive oil cooking spray)
>Sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper on both sides (for extra kick you can also add garlic powder)
>Grill on medium heat no more than 2 min each side (cook less if you like more crunch) Watch carefully because if overcooked they get mushy quickly.
You can also do something similar in a grill pan on the stove if you are in a grill-less apartment.

Mmmm.  Even I, who once vowed never to eat zucchini again, greatly enjoy it prepared this way. 

