Sorry, but when you explained that you could not agree to the particular contract provision because you work for a publicly traded company and have a duty to your shareholders, I didn’t mean to snort into the phone.  That was rude.

But.  I don’t care about your shareholders.  That is your problem, not mine, and bleating about them does not increase your negotiation leverage.  Yes, you have a duty to them, but I and my client do not, nor do we give two bits about them. 

And since dozens hundreds of companies we deal with agree to that same exact provision all the time, I don’t think its overly onerous.  By the way, you are our vendor, not our customer.  Rather we are your customer (er, or maybe not, seeing as how this conversation is going), so remember that old adage . . .

