Some of the big problems out there seem too overwhelming to address on this little blog.  And there are blogs that address them really well and have been doing it for a while.  So I feel only a tiny bit of guilt over blogging about a minor irritant I had as a result from the latest ‘newsletter’ from my congressman.

We received a newsletter addressed to “The (mr.jolt’s last name) Family.”  WTF?  I’m on the tax rolls, buddy!  I vote!  And not under mr.jolt’s last name, under mine!

Now, I didn’t vote for you, and don’t plan to, but then neither did mr. jolt.

So, I decided to point out their antiquated ‘head of household’ approach to the congressman’s local office.  Unfortunately, the person who answered the phone was very polite, made a note to the ‘file’, and said they would do their best to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Don’t you hate it when you want to have a fun mini-rant at someone and they deflate you by being reasonable?  So irritating.

Part of me would love to adopt my late stepfather’s habit of being a crank, writing in to the local newspaper, etc. on a regular basis.  My stepfather so assidously wrote to the local editor in our hometown to note basic errors of spelling and grammar that they invited him in to give a talk to their editorial staff (probably just to shut him up, but, he was also a professional writer and a damn good one).    I think when I retire, I will assume ‘ feminist crankiness’ as my hobby/’job’  — until then, there is simply not enough time in the day to assume such an overwhelming task.

