So I’m more than halfway through my writing class and I’m loving it.  I’m going to be sad when it ends –deadlines are useful!  Fortunately, each of the online ‘lectures’ contains various writing exercise suggestions in addition to the actual assignment so I’m planning on using them as my own private lesson plan for the rest of the fall.

Anyway, if any of my tiny group of readers is interested in improving their writing, I highly recommend Gotham Writer’s Workshop.  They have live classes in NYC, but they also have a whole ongoing series of online classes in a huge variety of areas.   Between the exercises, the comments of the professor on my own work and in ‘chat-lounge’ discussions I feel like I finally understand what I’m supposed to be doing, or at least developing a plan of what to do next.

Now, if only I could find someone to make the kids lunches, clean the kitchen, and pay the bills so I’d have time to write!*

 

*This is not to imply that mr. jolt doesn’t do his share, but he’s out 2 nights a week doing the PhD thing, then I’m often out one night a week, and, on top of it all, I’m lazy.  By the time the kids are in bed and the kitchen is clean all I want to do is veg with a good novel.

