Obama’s first press conference (transcript here).  Seemed pretty good to me.  But the most refreshing thing is that, unlike the current occupant of the White House, President elect Obama can effectively communicate ideas and comes across as reasonable even when he’s obviously hedging.

It seems, somehow, absurd to point out that Obama is an effective communicator, but geez, its a huge reminder of how awful Bush is at saying simple sentences or conducting press conferences.  Perhaps some of this is due to the honeymoon stage Obama is in, but his clarity, and also, his addressing the press without sneers, is so refreshing.

I wish I were a more effective speaker and writer in part because I firmly believe that the ability to speak and write clearly is inevitably linked to the ability to think clearly.  Perhaps there are many exceptions to that view,  but the contrast between Bush and Obama reinforces that notion for me.

