Last Friday, mr. jolt got a frantic email from the ‘team mom’ for BB’s soccer team.  The subject?  The critical importance of everyone keeping their kids home from school today to avoid President Obama’s speech.  Attached to the bottom of the email was some link to Glenn Beck.

mr. jolt, being far more reasonable than I would have been under the circumstances, responded to her (not reply all, he is so much more tactful on this stuff than I) by pointing out that one shouldn’t rely on Glenn Beck and that the speech would be published on Monday (yesterday) and perhaps she should read it and decide whether or not her child should listen to it.

Her response?  “I don’t want my children listening to anything that man says.”

Hmm.  Yeah, I guess we won’t be inclined to get to know them better.  And frankly, keeping one’s kid home, missing a whole day of school, just to avoid a 15 minute speech (if that) is cutting off one’s nose to spite one’s face.  Assuming the school is even planning to show it in the first place.    If the situation were reversed and my kid had to listen to Bush, I’d counteract with speech of my own & a discussion with my kid.  But that’s not the way of the nutters.

